Acer Laptop Reviews

This page was 100% created with WP Shopping Pages. Here we edited the page template to only show Amazon products (no eBay) and display one review per item. We also changed the page title to “acer laptop Reviews” with the title template for SEO purposes.

Featured acer laptops:

Acer Aspire AS1410-8414 11.6-Inch Sapphire Blue Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life

Acer® Aspire AS1410-8414 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel® Centrino® Mobile Processor Technology- Intel® Core™2 Solo Processor ULV SU3500, Windows Vista® Home Premium with Service Pack 1, 11.6″ HD WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel® GS45 Express Chipset, 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 250GB SATA Hard Drive, Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Dolby Sound Room® Audio Enhancement, Intel® WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 3 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI™ Port, Multi-gesture Touchpad, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh), up to 6-hours of battery life, 3.08 lbs. | 1.4 kg (system unit

  • 1.4GHz Intel Core2 Solo ULV SU3500 Processor
  • 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, 250GB SATA Hard Drive
  • Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Intel WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 1 HDMI port
  • Windows Vista Home Premium (SP 1), 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh)
  • 11.6″ HD WXGA Acer CrystalBrite LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD

Rating: (out of 149 reviews)

List Price: $ 449.99
Price: $ 399.99

Acer Aspire AS1410-8414 11.6-Inch Sapphire Blue Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life Reviews

Review by Dave:

I keep checking out the Netbooks that come into the hardware lab where I work, looking for something to replace a cheap one I bought for my kids to play with, but they all just seem too small. As a result I’ve been poking around the high-end of the Netbook spectrum / low end of the Ultra-portable spectrum for something more usable. The Acer Aspire 1410 series does a great job of bridging the gap between small low cost “Netbooks” and more expensive “Ultra-portables” (which is what Acer classes this as). It manages to overcome many of the short comings of Netbooks without getting anywhere near the 00+ price range of most ultra-portables. It has a few drawbacks, notably material quality: like a lot of Acer products the plastic molding is attractive and the tolerances are tight. However the quality of the plastic is more in line with what you would expect with a Netbook (which is to say it is lower density plastic and more likely to scratch or break). To me it’s reasonable that the overall component quality is lower than what I would get if I spent 00 (display not as nice, finish not as refined, buttons not as responsive, etc…). Still, overall this is a well put together computer with good build quality considering the price. While I didn’t end up buying one myself if might be the right fit for you: if you are on a budget and you need a small laptop that can do more than browse web pages this would be a very good choice.

Let’s go over the specs:

CPU: The Core 2 ULV SU3500 is a great CPU choice and far more powerful than the Atom CPU found in most Netbooks. This is a single core (as opposed to the two core “Core2 Duo”) Ultra Low Voltage cpu running at 1.4GHz. Depending on the exact application this CPU is about 3-6x more powerful than the typical Atom Processor. It also has 3 MB of cache (cache is a form of on-chip high speed memory) vs the Atom’s 512 KB. With 6x the cache of the Atom this CPU is going to spend a lot more time running instructions and a lot less time waiting on the memory sub-system. It also helps that the Core 2 ULV SU3500 memory bus is about 25% faster than what you will find on an Atom. The Core2 is technically more power hungry than the Atom but when running applications the difference isn’t significant (5 watts for the Core2 vs 1.5 watts for Atom). The main difference happens when in standby or sleep mode where the Atom will use much less power than the Core2 (because the kind of transistors on the Atom “leak” less power than those used on the Core2 when in those modes). So if you need long battery life while carrying your computer around in standby with brief periods of activity you might prefer the Atom based Netbooks (say for sales calls on the road). I think most users will probably prefer the Core2 – I know that I do. Update: there may be a dual core version of this coming out soon. It’s on the list to arrive where I work but that doesn’t mean it will be sold in the US.

MEMORY: 2GB of DDR2 RAM is plenty and the 667Mhz memory speed is good enough (faster notebooks go up to 1066Mhz). This system runs Vista which is more memory hungry than the Windows XP or Linux found on most Netbooks so 2GB, while enough, doesn’t go as far as you might think. Still, as long as your aren’t planning on doing any really serious gaming 2GB will handle the typical office application with no troubles.

HDD: The 250GB HDD has plenty of storage given that most users don’t use more than 50GB. Serious gamers and video encoders will need a lot more space than this.

DISPLAY: The 11.6″ 1366×768 screen looks good and is a lot more useable than the 8-10″ screens found on most Netbooks. The resolution is much better than what you will find on most Netbooks and it is reasonably bright (200 nits vs 300+ nits on higher end laptop). I passed on this model because the viewing angle is limited (the manufacturer list the viewing angles as 60vert/90horiz compared to 120v/140h on a high end display) and my sons like to sit with me and watch YouTube videos. The limited viewing angles might be a selling point for somebody traveling who would prefer not to share what’s on their screen with others. So while Acer clearly saved some money here it’s still a good display: unless you need a really high quality LCD I think most people will be pretty happy with this screen (again it’s far better than what you’ll find in most Netbooks). For those few who care it’s made by AU Optronics and I think it’s model B116XW01.

GRAPHICS: The Intel Mobile GMA X4500HD graphics won’t impress any gamers but if you’re running business applications it will do just fine. Update: they loaded Autocad on this thing at work and it wasn’t pretty. It might have been a driver issue but the render times were terrible. It’s not really a surprise but don’t buy this to run your CAD software. Of course for most users this won’t be an issue.

AUDIO: notebooks are not known for great speaker sound and this notebook doesn’t break from that trend. Again it’s better than most Netbooks but not by a lot. Update: With headphones on I found the sound to be fine.

DRIVES: Like most Netbooks and Ultra-portables this has no CD or DVD drive. I recommend buying an external CD Drive. The software industry may start to switch over to USB drives soon (Windows 7 will be sold on USB drives) so this may not be a big deal for much longer. Today it’s a pain to not have a CDROM.

BATTERY: The 6 cell battery is perfect for this notebook (thanks to the low power components). This notebook is probably too small for an 8 cell to fit cleanly but the 4 cell found in most Netbooks just isn’t adequate, even for an Atom CPU. This 6 cell battery will provide about 3-5 hours of real use though with aggressive power saving modes you can get over six hours. Update: we have two of these in our hardware lab and it was just pointed it out to me that one (which came pre-release) had a higher capacity battery than the release version (5600mAH vs. 4400mAH). I’ve adjusted my battery life numbers down to reflect the release version. Interestingly the non-US version of this laptop has the higher capacity battery. I can only assume Acer was trying to bring the price down to compete in the tight US netbook market.

WEIGHT: Coming in a 3.1 lbs this is tiny bit heavier than the typical Netbook but not by much (Netbooks will range from 2-3lbs). Most regular notebooks are 6-8 lbs.

WIRELESS: The usual Intel 5100 A/G/N supports the most common standards (“A” and “G”) along with the new “N” standard. You should have no trouble connecting to wireless networks. This is pretty standard though a few laptops will support 3G out of the box.

In short: while this notebook isn’t perfect it is well built and unlike most Netbooks, actually has a decent CPU. It’s small and light but big enough that you can actually use it. If you’ve got 1K-2K to spend you can get a better Ultra-Portable notebook (I’m partial to Sony’s and Apple’s offerings in that segment) but in this price range there isn’t much competition.

Oh I should note that while this model is dark blue, Acer makes this in two other colors you can buy:

Acer Aspire AS1410-8913 11.6-Inch Ruby Red

Acer Aspire AS1410-8804 11.6-Inch Black

Also if you’re outside the US this might be sold as the “Acer Timeline 1810T” locally and may have slightly different specs (such as a better battery).

Buy Acer Aspire AS1410-8414 11.6-Inch Sapphire Blue Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life now for only $ 399.99!

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1920 10.1-Inch Ruby Red Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life

Acer redefines mobile connectivity with the Aspire One, the revolutionary Netbook featuring a 10.1″ display and fun, powerful computing features delivering an optimal on-the-go Internet experience. Browse the Internet, check email, share photos, webcam, check sport scores, listen to music and enjoy a variety of entertainment in a small compact design that you can take anywhere.

  • 1.6GHz Intel Atom N270 Processor
  • 1 GB RAM; Wi-Fi (802.11b / g) enabled
  • 160 GB Hard Drive (without operating system), Integrated 802.11b/g, Wi-Fi Certified
  • 10.1-Inch Display, Includes Acer Crystal Eye webcam
  • Windows XP Home with SP3, 6 Cell Battery (6 1/2 Hours of Battery Life)

Rating: (out of 496 reviews)

List Price: $ 319.99
Price: $ 329.00

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1920 10.1-Inch Ruby Red Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life Reviews

Review by T. Orkun:

I ordered my Acer Aspire One 10.1 Netbook (AOD150-1165) on Feb 28, 2009 from Amazon. Item shipped on March 2nd and arrived on March 14.

When I ordered only Sapphire Blue color was available but I am happy with Sapphire Blue. It looks very attractive. I would normally order either white or black model but I am glad they were not available :) The only thing I can complain is that it easily gets finger marks so I try not to touch the shiny surfaces.

When you unpack the box and hold it on your hand, you will realise how light this is (especially if you have been lugging a 17″ laptop) This is very transportable and ideal for those small airplane tray tables (or your lap)

The 1.6Ghz N270 Intel Atom processor is a single core processor but it is pretty snappy and certainly more than enough for most office type usage. The Netbook ships with Windows XP Home w/SP3 installed instead of Vista so to me it feels as responsive as (or better than) a Core 2 Duo based laptop running Vista.

The unit is rather quiet. The fan or hard disk noise is minimal. The fan does not kick in often during normal use. It might be more active with some heavy CPU/HD activity tasks.

The screen is 1024×600 CrystalBright (shiny) type LCD but very comfortable to read under various light conditions. There is an integrated 0.3M megapixel (640×480) webcam and microphone embedded in the screen frame. Ideal to use a video phone/conferencing software like Skype, etc. BTW, to gain some vertical space on desktop, you might want to set Windows XP taskbar to auto-hide and pop-up when you move the cursor to the edge of the screen.

The keyboard is actually pretty well designed. Unlike some models from competitors, the shift, control, alt, tab, enter, backspace keys are all in the right places. Initially, I found the keys a bit small but after a few days of use, you get used to and avoid hitting two keys. The arrow keys could have been a bit bigger as there is room along the lower right side of the keyboard.

The touchpad on this model is made by Synaptics and is pretty configurable. Like everything else it is a bit small but works acceptably well. It would have been better if it was made wider. Touchpad buttons is another story. They are correctly placed below the touchpad but instead of using two independent buttons the designers chose to use one bar over the two buttons. This made the buttons much harder to press. I would have preferred two independent buttons. I think this is the biggest complaint about the design of this netbook. Nevertheless, the buttons do get softer over time. I have softened the buttons out by pressing both ends of the button bar at the same time repeatedly. I do this a number of times before using the laptop each day. So, it is not that hopeless.

Well, I do try to get myself used to build-in keyboard and mouse but those that are doing extensive work can still attach a regular USB keyboard and a USB mouse. For example, Microsoft Wireless Notebook Optical Mouse 3000 is a perfect match.

Alternatively, you can tap on the touchpad instead of pressing the buttons. The synaptics touchpad is pretty configurable. You can configure a corner of the touchpad for right button and anywhere else would be left button.

The speakers for this netbook is under it. They are pretty loud and sound quality is pretty decent. However, since the speaker openings are underside of the netbook, if you are holding it on a soft surface such as carpet or bed the sound can get muffled as the openings will be blocked. It’s not a very good idea to keep it on the soft surfaces for a long time anyway as this will block the fan vents as well and cause the netbook to overheat.

There is 1GB RAM memory on DDR2 SODIMM module installed (mine was made by Samsung). There is no on-board soldered memory (the description on Amazon is incorrect and is referring to older 8.9″ model). The memory is easily upgradable to 2GB by replacing the SODIMM module. I upgraded the memory on 10.1″ Aspire One to 2GB by installing a “Mushkin 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory – Retail” module (Mushkin part #991618). It works great! Please note that this module has CAS4 (4-4-4-12) timing instead of more common CAS5 (5-5-5-16). In other words, it is slightly faster memory as it has less wait states :)

The hard disk is a Hitachi HTS543216L9A300, 160GB 2.5″ 5400rpm, Serial ATA, 8MB Cache disk. It’s pretty quiet. I think there is plenty of space for most applications. If you need more you can attach an external USB hard drive or the hard disk itself can be upgraded almost as easily as the RAM memory.

The wireless chip (AR5007EG) is made by Atheros and supports 802.11b/g. The range is decent enough. I had no issues connecting to my home WiFi Access Point, at work or other free public hotspots. I used wifi at Starbucks, Barnes and Noble Bookstore and McDonald’s among others (I get free WiFi at these locations since I have AT&T DSL). However, some users are reporting that they have some issues. The Atheros driver installed by default is old (version 7.6.0.260). The latest I have found for the AR5007EG wifi chipset is version 7.6.1.244 (dated 2/25/2009) and I believe might solve issues that some people are experiencing. (As a convenience, I’ve provided instructions at the bottom of this review for access to updated drivers) The device properties indicate that the WiFi chip is setup for maximum power saving. By the way, just like RAM and HDD, the wireless module is also accessible. Who knows, someone (or Acer) would come up with an replacement module for 802.11n or a Bluetooth+WiFi combo.

There is no build-in bluetooth capability. If you need to interface with Bluetooth devices you will need to buy a USB adapter such as Cirago Bluetooth BTA3210 v2.1 EDR Class 2 Micro Bluetooth Adapter or you can get a combo with a bluetooth mouse such as Logitech VX Nano Cordless Laser Mouse for Notebooks (Black) Update: Apparently, Acer Aspire One AOD150 models build for some Asian markets do come with build-in Bluetooth. It’s a pity Bluetooth is not included for American version. :(

Like many other early adopters, the laptop arrived with Panasonic Built 5800mAh, 59W battery. It lasts 7-8hrs under normal office type work with Wi-Fi enabled. This is a bigger capacity battery than it would ship normally (4400mAh, also 6-cell) but most everyone got the larger one so far.

There are 3x USB 2.0 ports, 1x 10/100 Ethernet port, 1x VGA external monitor port and a single Multi-format flash memory card reader/writer (again, Amazon’s description is incorrect about 2nd SD card slot). There are also a headphone and external microphone jacks and a Kensington style lock slot.

There is also a slot for 3G SIM chip beside the battery. My netbook did have the slot but no 3G hardware in there to accept the SIM card. Presumably some models will be equipped to have 3G wireless capability.

Unlike 8.9″ predecessor, this 10.1 model did not come with a case. I picked a Neoprene sleeve from a local store that is designed for an 11″ laptop (Sony VAIO 11.1-Inch Neoprene protection case). Please note that with 6-cell battery the width of the netbook is about 8.5″. So, most 10″ cases with width around 7-8″ will either not fit or will require signficant stretching so choose your case accordingly. Actually, I personally use two cases. The neoprene sleeve goes inside a larger 12-13″ laptop bag with enough storage pockets for the charger and other cables. When I go out to a cafe, I only take the netbook in sleeve and leave the rest in the car.

The netbook also does not come with system recovery disks. There is a Acer recovery utility pre-installed that will generate your recovery disks for you. You should do this as soon as possible. You never know when you will need them. You will need a USB attached CD/DVD writer and some recordable media (6 CD-Rs for System Recovery + 2 for Apps and Drivers, OR alternatively 2 DVD-R for Recovery + 1 DVD-R for Apps and Drivers). I’ve purchased a NU Slim USB External SuperMulti Drive DVD Burner ESW860 and worked for me well. It’s slim enough to carry along with your netbook and you can watch DVDs if you like. You should be able to use it on any other laptop or desktop computer with USB 2.0 interface. Update: You can also order a set of recover CDs directly from Acer for . You need to go to Acer Support Website www.acerpanam.com and click on US on the map and select “eRecovery CD Purchase” link. It will verify the serial number of your netbook first.

Besides Windows XP Home, there is MS Works, a trial version of Microsoft Office 2007, a 30-day version of McAfee anti-virus suite and a couple other trialware installed. These can be uninstalled from Control Panel easily if desired (or needed).

Overall, I am very satisfied with it and highly recommend it. Obviously, I cannot talk about Customer Support/Service as I did not need to use the service. If your aim is to run your usual applications and surf the net with a decent screen size, this is the right one.

——

Update: Updating Atheros AR5007EG WiFi driver:

You can download version 7.6.1.244 (2/25/2009) driver free from Softpedia. Go to drivers.softpedia.com and enter AR5007EG at the top search box. Download the zip file (ar5_ar9_7.6.1.244.zip) and unzip it. Then go to Install_CD sub-folder and run setup.exe. When prompted choose to upgrade the driver. It’s simple and painless… If you are still having problems after driver update, change the channel of your AP/Router. There may be high interference from a nearby wifi router/access point. Good luck!

Buy Acer Aspire One AOD150-1920 10.1-Inch Ruby Red Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life now for only $ 329.00!

Acer AS5517-1643 15.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer AS5517-1643 Notebook comes with these specs: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core L310 Processor, Windows 7 Home Premium, 15.6-Inch HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, AMD M780G Chipset, 3072MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics, 250GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, Acer InviLink 802.11b/g Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, High-Definition Audio Support, Two Built-in Stereo Speakers, 2 – USB 2.0 Ports, Touchpad-lock, 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (4400 mAh), Up to 2.5 Hours of Battery Life, 6.0 lbs. | 2.7 kg (system unit only), One-year International Travelers Limited Warranty, AC Power Adapter, AC Power

  • 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core L310 Processor
  • 3072MB DDR2 667MHz Memory
  • 250GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • Windows 7 Home Premium, Up to 2.5 Hours of Battery Life
  • 15.6-Inch HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Rating: (out of 5 reviews)

List Price: $ 449.99
Price: $ 435.99

Acer AS5517-1643 15.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by Karen Kelly:

I bought this computer on sale at a different retailer (well under four hundred), but it’s still well worth the current listed price here. At the time I bought it, I thought it had a faster processor (was looking at the wrong specs), so when I got the actual computer I was dismayed to see 1.6 GHz on the box. Thought about taking it back, but, it was just such a good deal, and I was in a situation where I needed a computer immediately. Another disappointment was its lack of a webcam, in the picture it looks like it has one, but it’s just the place where one would have been.

It might seem odd to start out a 5 star review with disappointments, but this was an emergency purchase and wasn’t my first choice, it was just the best thing I could afford. However (and it’s a big however), this little computer rocks very, very hard. It totally exceeded my expectations, and there aren’t too many things that do that.

The Good:

* It’s surprisingly fast – faster than the T7200 2GHz 64bit dual core laptop it replaced. Significantly faster.

* It has enough memory for most folks (unless you’re like me, the mad multi-tasker, in which case, go ahead and increase it to 4GB — it will run all sorts of apps (dreamweaver, photoshop elements, several browsers, local web server, etc) simultaneously when running at 60 – 80% of 3836GB available (out of the 4GB) memory without getting boggy.

* The screen is bright, clear, and has decently vivid color. Watching DVDs and streaming HD video is delightful.

* The keyboard is wonderful, and the trackpad is one of the first I’ve ever been able to use without missing a mouse. It’s positioned perfectly, recessed just enough, and has software smart enough to recognize accidental touches vs. deliberate ones. The scroll area on the right side is nice and responsive.

* Battery life is adequate, this isn’t a Low Voltage processor so it’s going to last 2-3 hours with moderate use and the screen dimmed (it reports 4 hours left when I unplug it, but I’ve never used it more than an hour unplugged — someday I’ll test it to see how long it’ll last, and update this review then). **update** Battery life is another area this little computer exceeds expectations. Power save mode does a great job of running it efficiently and putting it to sleep when not in use, so I can bring it to work, use it when I need to check personal email or twitter or get to my files, and leave it unplugged all day, no problem. And, solid use, still over two hours.

* Having the numeric keypad is such a good thing. It’s a little squeezed in, so the function keys and decimal are on top instead of on the side, but it’s easy enough to get used to.

* Runs external monitor with no problems (but that needs to be configured in the thing called “Acer Grid” to really work right)

The Hmmm…

* The pattern on the lid is supposed to be fingerprint resistant, but you can still see fingerprints. (It’s still very pretty, no complaints). However, whatever they used on the keyboard frame and the trackpad is some sort of miraculous substance that you cannot tell has been touched. I’ve had my greasy paws resting on it for hours on end for over a week now, never wiped it clean, it’s just … clean.

* There was a little crapware to uninstall, nothing too annoying, but I feel the need to mention it, hopefully one day manufacturers will “get it” and stop pre-installing crap entirely? Hey, a girl can dream.

* Only 2 USB ports – when I set it up at work (plugged into external monitor, with keyboard and mouse in front of the big monitor) this means I’d need a USB hub to use any other USB device. No big deal though.

The Meh…

* Speakers don’t rock — but — plugged in my old altec lansing powered speakers + subwoofer (model VS2321 if you were wondering, nothing fancy, just basic laptop speakers) and the sound watching Foo Fighters live stream was freakin’ awesome.

* Last night I plugged my new Droid in to transfer music, and all the browsers got squirrely while it was plugged in. Every browser (I have 5 installed) crashed constantly while Android phone was connected. No big deal, just … weird.

In Conclusion:

This is a good, solid, basic machine, at a great price — (I paid more for my telephone after deposits, fees, taxes, etc :) — and it’s the only time I’ve been disappointed by the numbers in the specs but pleasantly surprised by the *actual performance* – usually it’s the other way around. It’s a pleasure to type on, the trackpad is awesome, the screen is lovely, and it strikes a nice balance in size between the huge desktop-replacements and the little ultra-portables that always feel a little cramped. And Windows 7 is an awesome OS (been using it since late beta) and the release version running on a computer built for it is *sweet*.

Buy Acer AS5517-1643 15.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 435.99!

Acer Aspire Timeline AS5810TZ-4274 15.6-Inch Laptop – 8+ Hours Battery Life

Acer AS5810TZ-4274 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Pentium Processor SU2700, Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1, 15.6″ HD Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GS45 Express Chipset, 3072MB DDR3 1066MHz Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 320 GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, 5-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, 2nd Generation Dolby Sound Room Audio Enhancement, 802.11b/g/Draft-N Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, 4 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Convenience Buttons- Multi-gesture Touchpad, Acer PowerSmart Technology, Acer Backup Manager, Touchpad-lock, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (5600 mAh), 8+ hours battery life, 5.3 lbs. |

  • 1.3 GHz Intel Pentium SU2700 Processor
  • 3072MB DDR3 1066MHz RAM
  • 320 GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • Windows Vista Home Premium (SP1), Over 8 Hours of Battery Life (6-Cell 5600 mAh)
  • 15.6″ HD CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD

Rating: (out of 30 reviews)

List Price: $ 599.99
Price: $ 579.99

Acer Aspire Timeline AS5810TZ-4274 15.6-Inch Laptop – 8+ Hours Battery Life Reviews

Review by Nick Clair:

This is a great laptop. I read reviews and info about this for more than a month before laying down the cash for it. I’ve been extremely happy with it. It’s thin and sexy. It’s light (especially for a 15 inch laptop). It’s extremely cool. The performance is good but not amazing. I mostly work with music editing and notation software and this laptop has handled all them fine. I play games online with it and I have yet to find a game that it can’t handle (it should be noted I only play games from the browser and have no idea how a real computer game would do, but I know since this doesn’t have a graphics card it probably wouldn’t do well with 3d graphics, but I dont really know.) For everyday computing this computer has all the power you need. The 15 inch model is great too. The keyboard is full sized (which was somewhat of an adjustment after using cramped keyboards for so long) and the number pad is extremely helpful (at least to me).

The battery life is why you buy this computer. All day computing is no lie. I used to own a Dell and a Toshiba which got about 3 hours battery life at best, and then up to 10 minutes as they got old. It’s been hard to break the habit of packing my power adapter when I leave but I’ve never needed it. I can go to school all day, take my computer to class, work in the library or cafeteria and never need to worry about running out of juice. If I crank it up to “High Performance” I can get a solid 5 to 6 hours of battery, on “Power Saver” I get an easy 8 and a half and if I turn off the WiFi I can get a little more then 10 hours. I’ve never, never, never, run it down completely during normal use.

Overall a great computer at a great price. Everything you need with an unbelievable battery life. Free yourself from the wall socket and buy this computer!

Buy Acer Aspire Timeline AS5810TZ-4274 15.6-Inch Laptop – 8+ Hours Battery Life now for only $ 579.99!

Acer Aspire AS1410-2497 11.6-Inch Blue Laptop – Up to 6 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer Aspire AS1410-2497 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Celeron Processor 743, Windows 7 Home Premium, 11.6″ HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GS45 Express Chipset, 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 250GB SATA Hard Drive, Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Dolby Sound Room Audio Enhancement, Intel WiFi Link 1000 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 3 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Multi-gesture Touchpad, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh), up to 6-hours of battery life, 3.08 lbs. | 1.4 kg (system unit only), AC Power Adapter, AC Power Cord, Wireless Setup Card, Registration/ Limited

  • 1.3GHz Intel Celeron 743 Processor
  • 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory
  • 250GB SATA Hard Drive, Intel WiFi Link 1000 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N
  • 11.6″ HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD
  • Windows 7 Home Premium, Up to 6 Hours of Battery Life

Rating: (out of 45 reviews)

List Price: $ 399.99
Price: $ 419.00

Acer Aspire AS1410-2497 11.6-Inch Blue Laptop – Up to 6 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by J. Evans:

As a small internet business owner, I needed a laptop that is portable and reliable. I originally started looking at the 10″ netbooks, but found them to be too small and I hated that they only ran the Windows 7 Starter version which has some major restrictions. This 11.6″ laptop has a decent size screen and a nice size keyboard. I was deciding between this and the HP, but when you customize the HP to have all the same specs as this Acer, the cost was over 0 so this became a no-brainer.

I’ve had my Acer for about 1 month now and it is great. Windows 7 takes a little getting used to, but I’ve had no issues with it at all. I hooked it up to a wireless network printer without incident and it wasn’t loaded with a ton of garbage-ware. My only issue was that it only comes with the student/home trial version of MS Office, and I am an Outlook user. The entire office suite is expensive, so instead I tried Mozilla Thunderbird which is free and it works just as well as Outlook. Once my trial period for the MS Office software is up, I will purchase it for only 9 and keep Thunderbird as my email client which will save me a pretty penny.

Amazon had this laptop out to me in 3 days with free shipping (HP charged for shipping).

If you are looking for a “net-book” with all the capabilities of a regular sized laptop, I highly recommend this Acer.

Buy Acer Aspire AS1410-2497 11.6-Inch Blue Laptop – Up to 6 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 419.00!

Acer AS5738Z-4111 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer AS5738Z-4111 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Pentium Processor T4300, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, 15.6 inch HD Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GL40 Express Chipset, 4096MB DDR2 667MHz Dual Channel Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M, 320GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Acer InviLink 802.11b/g/Draft-N Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, Gigabit Ethernet, High Definition Audio Support, Integrated Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, 4 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Convenience Features- Multi-Gesture Touchpad, Acer Backup Manager, Touchpad-lock, 6-Cell Lithium-Ion (4400 mAh), 6.16 lbs. | 2.8 kg. (system unit only), AC

  • 2.1GHz Intel Pentium Dual-Core T4300 Processor
  • 4096MB DDR2 667MHz Dual Channel Memory
  • 320GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • 15.6″ HD Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Rating: (out of 31 reviews)

List Price: $ 549.99
Price: $ 569.99

Acer AS5738Z-4111 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by gal416:

After making a lot of comparisons between the various laptops being offered since Windows 7 was released I found the Acer 4111 to be an outstanding buy at 9.99 through Amazon. It has so many nice features, 4 gigs of memory, 4 USB slots, a built in modem, 2.1 gig CPU and I could go on and on. It is a long list of features. I have only had it for 4 days and am impressed with it in so many ways. So far I am pleased with Windows 7. It seems pretty solid and it does have some nice touches to it. A word of caution on this model is that it does not come with backup DVD’s. You will need at least 4 blank DVD disks and the built in backup program works very smoothly.

One irritant I ran into was a very annoying Macaffe (trial version) pop-up window every few minutes. I solved that by deleting the program. As the Acer comes with a 320 gig hard drive you will find that you have only about 260 gigs free. There is a lot of junk on the hard drive that could come off to free up more space.

I recommend this Acer and gave it 5 stars. I also am very well pleased with Amazon.

Buy Acer AS5738Z-4111 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 569.99!

Acer AS7540-1317 17.3-Inch Laptop (Blue)

Acer AS7540-1317 Notebook comes with these specs: AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Processor M300, Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit), 17.3-Inch HD+ Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, AMD M880G Chipset, 4096MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, ATI Radeon HD 4200 Graphics, 320GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, Acer InviLink 802.11b/g/Draft-N Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, 3rd Generation Dolby Home Theater Audio Enhancement, Two Built-in Stereo Speakers, 4 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Multi-Gesture Touchpad, Touchpad-lock, 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (4400 mAh), 7.19 lbs. | 3.26 kg (system unit only), One-year International Travelers Limited Warranty, AC Power Adapter, AC

  • 2.0GHz AMD Athlon II Dual-Core M300 Processor
  • 4GB DDR2 667MHz Memory
  • 320GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • 17.3″ HD+ Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display; ATI Radeon HD 4200 Graphics
  • Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit); 802.11b/g/Draft-N Wi-Fi CERTIFIED

Rating: (out of 2 reviews)

List Price: $ 579.99
Price: $ 579.00

Acer AS7540-1317 17.3-Inch Laptop (Blue) Reviews

Review by David Rouleau:

Ok so its been a while since i had a new laptop but i think this one does what i need and it does it very well. the speeds are snappy, the longest waiting time i had was for windows to remove all the bundle software that came with the laptop (seriously, who uses McAfee still?).

Windows gave it an overall score of 4.0 and the reason for that is because the ATI Radeon in this laptop is designed more so for viewing video (HD at that) which displays great on its crisp LED screen. if you find yourself being a media hog i would recommend at least a network/external drive or upgrading the one with it, it comes with 320 (good for moderate users) but media people on a budget will find that they can fill that up in a moment. I have yet to test it with games but according to several reviews they say that the video card should be able to play games like modern warfare 2, on its lowest settings.

The Multi-touch track pad is something i have yet to find a true use for, sure you can start in the corner and spiral around like an ipod to scroll down or up.. but why? there is a built in scrolling bar. Ok so you can pinch in and push out to zoom in and out… most people already know that the scroll bar does the same thing… seems more like a gimmick then something useful even the photo rotating command feels awkward to perform.

all in all its a good laptop for the price, not for gaming or long flights (average battery time i get is about 2.5-3 hours), but it fits that niche for people who need to have a big screen for either media or for viewing a lot of documents.

Buy Acer AS7540-1317 17.3-Inch Laptop (Blue) now for only $ 579.00!

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165 10.1-Inch Sapphire Blue Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life

Acer redefines mobile connectivity with the Aspire One, the revolutionary Netbook featuring a 10.1″ display and fun, powerful computing features delivering an optimal on-the-go Internet experience. Browse the Internet, check email, share photos, webcam, check sport scores, listen to music and enjoy a variety of entertainment in a small compact design that you can take anywhere.Building on its line of popular Aspire One netbooks, Acer makes it even easier to stay productive while on the go with the larger 10.1-inch screen of the Aspire One AOD150-1165. A great choice for students as well as business travelers who

  • The 1.6GHz Intel Atom N270 Processor combines performance, power and efficiency to explore the Internet and stay connected while mobile.
  • 6-cell battery provides up to 6 1/2 hours of battery life for extended use and productivity when away from an AC outlet.
  • Windows XP Home with SP3 gives you the freedom to do what you want at home and at work – simply, reliably and more securely
  • 160GB Hard Drive, 1GB RAM, Integrated 802.11b/g Wi-Fi Certified
  • Acer Crystal Eye webcam delivers smooth video streaming and high quality images for your on-line chats and business video conferences

Rating: (out of 496 reviews)

List Price: $ 319.99
Price: $ 359.99

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165 10.1-Inch Sapphire Blue Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life Reviews

Review by T. Orkun:

I ordered my Acer Aspire One 10.1 Netbook (AOD150-1165) on Feb 28, 2009 from Amazon. Item shipped on March 2nd and arrived on March 14.

When I ordered only Sapphire Blue color was available but I am happy with Sapphire Blue. It looks very attractive. I would normally order either white or black model but I am glad they were not available :) The only thing I can complain is that it easily gets finger marks so I try not to touch the shiny surfaces.

When you unpack the box and hold it on your hand, you will realise how light this is (especially if you have been lugging a 17″ laptop) This is very transportable and ideal for those small airplane tray tables (or your lap)

The 1.6Ghz N270 Intel Atom processor is a single core processor but it is pretty snappy and certainly more than enough for most office type usage. The Netbook ships with Windows XP Home w/SP3 installed instead of Vista so to me it feels as responsive as (or better than) a Core 2 Duo based laptop running Vista.

The unit is rather quiet. The fan or hard disk noise is minimal. The fan does not kick in often during normal use. It might be more active with some heavy CPU/HD activity tasks.

The screen is 1024×600 CrystalBright (shiny) type LCD but very comfortable to read under various light conditions. There is an integrated 0.3M megapixel (640×480) webcam and microphone embedded in the screen frame. Ideal to use a video phone/conferencing software like Skype, etc. BTW, to gain some vertical space on desktop, you might want to set Windows XP taskbar to auto-hide and pop-up when you move the cursor to the edge of the screen.

The keyboard is actually pretty well designed. Unlike some models from competitors, the shift, control, alt, tab, enter, backspace keys are all in the right places. Initially, I found the keys a bit small but after a few days of use, you get used to and avoid hitting two keys. The arrow keys could have been a bit bigger as there is room along the lower right side of the keyboard.

The touchpad on this model is made by Synaptics and is pretty configurable. Like everything else it is a bit small but works acceptably well. It would have been better if it was made wider. Touchpad buttons is another story. They are correctly placed below the touchpad but instead of using two independent buttons the designers chose to use one bar over the two buttons. This made the buttons much harder to press. I would have preferred two independent buttons. I think this is the biggest complaint about the design of this netbook. Nevertheless, the buttons do get softer over time. I have softened the buttons out by pressing both ends of the button bar at the same time repeatedly. I do this a number of times before using the laptop each day. So, it is not that hopeless.

Well, I do try to get myself used to build-in keyboard and mouse but those that are doing extensive work can still attach a regular USB keyboard and a USB mouse. For example, Microsoft Wireless Notebook Optical Mouse 3000 is a perfect match.

Alternatively, you can tap on the touchpad instead of pressing the buttons. The synaptics touchpad is pretty configurable. You can configure a corner of the touchpad for right button and anywhere else would be left button.

The speakers for this netbook is under it. They are pretty loud and sound quality is pretty decent. However, since the speaker openings are underside of the netbook, if you are holding it on a soft surface such as carpet or bed the sound can get muffled as the openings will be blocked. It’s not a very good idea to keep it on the soft surfaces for a long time anyway as this will block the fan vents as well and cause the netbook to overheat.

There is 1GB RAM memory on DDR2 SODIMM module installed (mine was made by Samsung). There is no on-board soldered memory (the description on Amazon is incorrect and is referring to older 8.9″ model). The memory is easily upgradable to 2GB by replacing the SODIMM module. I upgraded the memory on 10.1″ Aspire One to 2GB by installing a “Mushkin 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory – Retail” module (Mushkin part #991618). It works great! Please note that this module has CAS4 (4-4-4-12) timing instead of more common CAS5 (5-5-5-16). In other words, it is slightly faster memory as it has less wait states :)

The hard disk is a Hitachi HTS543216L9A300, 160GB 2.5″ 5400rpm, Serial ATA, 8MB Cache disk. It’s pretty quiet. I think there is plenty of space for most applications. If you need more you can attach an external USB hard drive or the hard disk itself can be upgraded almost as easily as the RAM memory.

The wireless chip (AR5007EG) is made by Atheros and supports 802.11b/g. The range is decent enough. I had no issues connecting to my home WiFi Access Point, at work or other free public hotspots. I used wifi at Starbucks, Barnes and Noble Bookstore and McDonald’s among others (I get free WiFi at these locations since I have AT&T DSL). However, some users are reporting that they have some issues. The Atheros driver installed by default is old (version 7.6.0.260). The latest I have found for the AR5007EG wifi chipset is version 7.6.1.244 (dated 2/25/2009) and I believe might solve issues that some people are experiencing. (As a convenience, I’ve provided instructions at the bottom of this review for access to updated drivers) The device properties indicate that the WiFi chip is setup for maximum power saving. By the way, just like RAM and HDD, the wireless module is also accessible. Who knows, someone (or Acer) would come up with an replacement module for 802.11n or a Bluetooth+WiFi combo.

There is no build-in bluetooth capability. If you need to interface with Bluetooth devices you will need to buy a USB adapter such as Cirago Bluetooth BTA3210 v2.1 EDR Class 2 Micro Bluetooth Adapter or you can get a combo with a bluetooth mouse such as Logitech VX Nano Cordless Laser Mouse for Notebooks (Black) Update: Apparently, Acer Aspire One AOD150 models build for some Asian markets do come with build-in Bluetooth. It’s a pity Bluetooth is not included for American version. :(

Like many other early adopters, the laptop arrived with Panasonic Built 5800mAh, 59W battery. It lasts 7-8hrs under normal office type work with Wi-Fi enabled. This is a bigger capacity battery than it would ship normally (4400mAh, also 6-cell) but most everyone got the larger one so far.

There are 3x USB 2.0 ports, 1x 10/100 Ethernet port, 1x VGA external monitor port and a single Multi-format flash memory card reader/writer (again, Amazon’s description is incorrect about 2nd SD card slot). There are also a headphone and external microphone jacks and a Kensington style lock slot.

There is also a slot for 3G SIM chip beside the battery. My netbook did have the slot but no 3G hardware in there to accept the SIM card. Presumably some models will be equipped to have 3G wireless capability.

Unlike 8.9″ predecessor, this 10.1 model did not come with a case. I picked a Neoprene sleeve from a local store that is designed for an 11″ laptop (Sony VAIO 11.1-Inch Neoprene protection case). Please note that with 6-cell battery the width of the netbook is about 8.5″. So, most 10″ cases with width around 7-8″ will either not fit or will require signficant stretching so choose your case accordingly. Actually, I personally use two cases. The neoprene sleeve goes inside a larger 12-13″ laptop bag with enough storage pockets for the charger and other cables. When I go out to a cafe, I only take the netbook in sleeve and leave the rest in the car.

The netbook also does not come with system recovery disks. There is a Acer recovery utility pre-installed that will generate your recovery disks for you. You should do this as soon as possible. You never know when you will need them. You will need a USB attached CD/DVD writer and some recordable media (6 CD-Rs for System Recovery + 2 for Apps and Drivers, OR alternatively 2 DVD-R for Recovery + 1 DVD-R for Apps and Drivers). I’ve purchased a NU Slim USB External SuperMulti Drive DVD Burner ESW860 and worked for me well. It’s slim enough to carry along with your netbook and you can watch DVDs if you like. You should be able to use it on any other laptop or desktop computer with USB 2.0 interface. Update: You can also order a set of recover CDs directly from Acer for . You need to go to Acer Support Website www.acerpanam.com and click on US on the map and select “eRecovery CD Purchase” link. It will verify the serial number of your netbook first.

Besides Windows XP Home, there is MS Works, a trial version of Microsoft Office 2007, a 30-day version of McAfee anti-virus suite and a couple other trialware installed. These can be uninstalled from Control Panel easily if desired (or needed).

Overall, I am very satisfied with it and highly recommend it. Obviously, I cannot talk about Customer Support/Service as I did not need to use the service. If your aim is to run your usual applications and surf the net with a decent screen size, this is the right one.

——

Update: Updating Atheros AR5007EG WiFi driver:

You can download version 7.6.1.244 (2/25/2009) driver free from Softpedia. Go to drivers.softpedia.com and enter AR5007EG at the top search box. Download the zip file (ar5_ar9_7.6.1.244.zip) and unzip it. Then go to Install_CD sub-folder and run setup.exe. When prompted choose to upgrade the driver. It’s simple and painless… If you are still having problems after driver update, change the channel of your AP/Router. There may be high interference from a nearby wifi router/access point. Good luck!

Buy Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165 10.1-Inch Sapphire Blue Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life now for only $ 359.99!

Acer Aspire Timeline AS4810TZ-4508 14-Inch Aluminum Laptop – Over 8 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer Aspire Timeline AS4810TZ-4508 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor SU4100, Windows 7 Home Premium, 14-Inch HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GS45 Express Chipset, 4096 MB DDR3 1066MHz Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 320GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, HD Webcam, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, 2nd Generation Dolby Sound Room Audio Enhancement, Intel WiFi Link 1000 802.11b/g/Draft-N, 3 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Convenience Buttons- Multi-Gesture Touchpad, Acer PowerSmart Technology, Acer Backup Manager, Touchpad-lock, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (5600 mAh), 8+ hours of battery life, 4.4 lbs. |

  • 1.3GHz Intel Pentium Dual-Core SU4100 Processor
  • 4096MB DDR3 1066MHz Memory
  • 320GB SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • 14″ HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, (16:9 aspect ratio)
  • Windows 7 Home Premium, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (5600 mAh), 8+ Hours of Battery Life

Rating: (out of 39 reviews)

List Price: $ 649.99
Price: $ 839.83

Acer Aspire Timeline AS4810TZ-4508 14-Inch Aluminum Laptop – Over 8 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by C. Voegtli:

A week ago my home laptop died. Can’t concentrate worth beans once my computer environment is trashed so embarked on massive research to pick a replacement. I ended up with this machine after looking at a range of models from 11.6″ to 14″ displays, had trouble deciding on tradeoff between size/weight and screen size. I did not order from Amazon because I had to go look at machines first hand to test keyboards etc., and once I fell in love with this baby I couldn’t wait, so I bought it from Frys yesterday and have been on it for hours since.

How I intend to use this:

- Use it when I work from home, to both do stuff directly and to log into my desktop machine via Citrix GoToMyPC and remotely run stuff there. At home I have a huge secondary monitor on my desk.

- Use it when I travel on business – to be able to keep working including lots of document editing, powerpoint creation, web access, lots of multi-tasking, with no second monitor available, so had to be sure I could do my kind of work tasks on it with just the laptop screen available.

What I was looking for as backdrop:

- Battery life rated at least 8 hours (specs) because then I figured I’d get at least 6ish sitting around doing Word documents and light surfing, and at least 4 with more intense movie watching use.

- No more than around an inch thick. Weirdly, I have found that the thickness matters to me more than the length and width in terms of portability. The one that died was a 12″ HP that was small but thicker and it bugged me even though it too was reasonably portable.

- Keyboard with keys not stiff or cramped – I’m a fast typer plus I hate stuff/ high-travel keys.

- Preference for an included CD/DVD but not mandatory

- No more than 4.4 pounds. Nirvana would be 3 or 3.5 but not mandatory, other stuff matters too. I had a previous 15″ 4.4 lb laptop that I travelled with a lot and it was fine esp because it was 1.2 in. thin.

- Dual-core processor. I’m not an expert on such things, but read enough reviews here and on review site on the single core processor laptops — performance issues when multi-tasking programs — to rule out anything with single core processor. I am an abusive multi-tasker with 10 programs up at a time plus multiple windows in Word, IE, etc. so I just decided to take the reviewers’ word for it That meant I had to do a search each time i found a model to consider, look up the processor model listed, to see if it was single or dual core.

- At least 4 G of RAM and preferably expandable to 8 later.

- At least 250G drive.

I looked at a range of netbooks and notebooks up to the 14″ size. Had thought it would be cool to get a netbook for the portability, especially because I have this big monitor in my home office. But the more I looked, and started finding bigger machines that were light enough for me, AND battery life, I started gravitating to 13.3 in or 14″ machine.

I narrowed down to HP Dm3 (13″), Toshiba T135 (13″), Asus UL30 (13″), and this Acer Timeline (14″).

Why I chose the Acer timeline out of this set:

- HP looked fine but didn’t have a drive, so Acer had an edge there.

- The Asus got great reviews from people here, but I couldn’t find one to test and i just hate buying without trying out the keyboard for myself. And it didn’t have the DVD built in…

- Toshiba T135 was about to win with me until I found this Acer. Toshiba lost because its case was incredibly high-gloss plastic that just kept bothering me a little .. and when I saw the brushed aluminum on the Acer, well, the Toshiba was toast.

What i LOVE LOVE LOVE about this machine:

- Battery life appears as rated. Last night I was on track for 8 hours doing surfing using our wi-fi network plus some editing work, set to balanced mode and with screen brightness turned about half way down. During the surfing I also played some video off the ABC website and the system looked like it was projecting more like 4 to 4.5 hrs if I had kept going with that use mode.

- I really like Windows 7. I was on Vista and I liked the interface fine but the program itself was a pig. So far so good on Windows 7. I also like the control actions available through the keypad, including being able to quish or expand text size like on an iPhone. I am very picky about font size when I’m surfing around and love being about to adjust with a flick of the touchpad.

- The case is gorgeous. I didn’t think I cared about this until I compared this one to the Toshiba. That machine is a nice one, but this Acer alumnimum case makes the Toshiba look like a toy in comparison.

- The 1 inch thickness along with very flat brushed alumimum lid is wonderful. And the battery along the back edge is contured so i gives a grip when you carry the thing like a real notebook under your arm.

- The screen is brilliant and beautiful. Every time I look back it from my big HD 22″ monitor, I still gasp a little at the crispness and beauty of the screen. (and I am not usually this effusive about anything….)

In short, this one had the magic combo for me: 8 hr battery life spec, 4.2 lbs good enough portability for me, 1″ thick, DVD included, keyboard I liked, nice screen size, 4G of Ram expandable to 8, big enough disk drive, and beautiful professional sturdy-feeling brushed alumnimum case. Bonus points, discovered when I set it up, the speakers actually sound verygood to me compared to other laptops… and the way they’re spaced I do get decent stereo. Wahoo all around!

Only con on the hardware I can come up with is this – I’ll echo another reviewer’s comments that the keys are a bit slippery. I didn’t notice this playing with it in the store, but did once I got home and started using it a lot. But it is nowhere close to a showstopper or even a moderate annoyance. I’ve adjusted already and I don’t find myself slipping so much that I hit wrong keys. I just feel the difference between these reall flat surfaced keys and the sculpted keys on my other keyboards. I do like the action on these keys and the separation (personal keyboard preferences).

SETUP experience notes:

Came up fine. Only issue I had was when I accepted Acer’s prompt to use their backup management program to create recovery disks. For reasons I couldn’t figure out, that program locked up the computer, couldn’t get response to other programs, so I finally did a hard power down. And when I came back up, I used Windows’ own backup and restore program to make my recovery disks, which it did incredibly quickly.

No issues hooking up peripherals like usb mouse and keyboards (which i DID have on my Vista machine at work. Cross your fingers, maybe Windows 7 really HAS fixed the driver issues of Vista.)

Other people have complained about lots of Acer loaded crapware on some machines. I didn’t find that much. Deleted the McAfee and Norton stuff that came preloaded (more piggy software) plus a few Acer odds and ends — that took all of 15 minutes. Within a couple of hours I had made recovery disks, loaded up all the software I needed (antivirus, MS Office, spam filtering, some work access programs, iTunes, etc.) and tested all the hardware components (made sure all the USB ports worked, etc.)

Sorry so long, I just spent so much time researching models and deciding this stuff in the last week, thought I’d try to spread the info and hopefully save someone else some time.

Overall I am WAY WAY happy with this notebook! If something bad happens later I’ll be sure to come back and post an update :-) but I am very very happy with this purchase!

Buy Acer Aspire Timeline AS4810TZ-4508 14-Inch Aluminum Laptop – Over 8 Hours of Battery Life (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 839.83!

Acer Aspire 4810TZ-4011 Timeline 14.0-Inch Laptop

The Aspire 4800, one of the Timeline models from Acer, earned the name “all-day” notebook because it provides up to 8.0 hours of battery life, allowing users to go unplugged throughout the workday. Adding to this notebook’s portability is its compact size and light weight. The Aspire 4800 with 14.0″ LCD is only 4.2 lb. and just a fraction over one-inch high at its tallest point. Model # ACRNB48104011. UPC: 884483706464. Intel Pentium SU2700 1.30GHz Processor (2MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB). 3GB DDR3 1066 SDRAM. 320GB 5400RPM Hard Drive. 14.0″ WXGA

  • Intel Pentium Processor SU2700 1.30GHz Processor (2MB L2 cache, 1.30GHz, 800MHz FSB)
  • 3GB DDR3 1066 SDRAM
  • 320GB 5400RPM Hard Drive, SuperMulti Optical Drive
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium, 6 Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (up to 8 Hours of Battery Life)
  • 14.0″ WXGA TFT LCD Display (1366 x 768), Intel Graphics Media accelerator 4500MHD

Rating: (out of 36 reviews)

List Price: $ 599.99
Price: Too low to display

Acer Aspire 4810TZ-4011 Timeline 14.0-Inch Laptop Reviews

Review by Alexander Georgiev:

I have been using the Acer Timeline (14 inch, Aspire 4810TZ-4011) since yesterday evening and so far so good. Here are my first impressions:

1. The delivery was quick and packaging was good.

2. The looks of the laptop are fantastic. Love the isolation-type keyboard. The screen hinges could have been more solid but for a lightweight machine appear ok.

3. The eject button for the CD, various ports, the card reader, are all very suitably positioned.

4. The colours of the screen are beautiful. There are setup options to adjust those to taste, but I did not need to use them.

5. The laptop was easy to set up. I loaded the battery for about an hour before starting, perhaps an overkill, and was rewarded with a blue light coming from beneath the touchpad.

6. Setting up Vista for the first time was much quicker than my last XP setup on a netbook. Feels natural so far.

7. Soon after startup I was prompted to create recovery disks, and made two DVDs with the system and one with software.

8. There is (was) a lot of preloaded software. I spent a good deal of time finding out what it does (on Google) and cleaning most of it up.

9. People who have complained from performance issues maybe should take care to remove the redundant backup software (two or three of those pre-installed?!), the trial antivirus and other FUD nonsense.

10. I registerted for a FREE copy of Windows 7 for Timeline owners, to be shipped in October (woot!).

11. Set up Skype (after combating for a while with the firewall settings of Vista), and made a call — the sound is good, the mic is well positioned, the camera works fine, even better after peeling off the protective plastic sheet :)

12. Tested a youtube video in HD and it did not play smooth, which was a disappointment.

Comparing this to my 4y old FS, the Acer Timeline feels about as solid, a lot more silent, cooler, lighter by more than 2 pounds, with 6 times the RAM, 4 times the battery time, and a newer processor — clearly an upgrade in every aspect.

Buy Acer Aspire 4810TZ-4011 Timeline 14.0-Inch Laptop now for only Too low to display!

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1669 10.1-Inch Seashell White Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life

Acer redefines mobile connectivity with the Aspire One, the revolutionary Netbook featuring a 10.1″ display and fun, powerful computing features delivering an optimal on-the-go Internet experience. Browse the Internet, check email, share photos, webcam, check sport scores, listen to music and enjoy a variety of entertainment in a small compact design that you can take anywhere.

  • The 1.6GHz Intel Atom N270 Processor combines performance, power and efficiency to explore the Internet and stay connected while mobile.
  • 6-cell battery provides up to 6 1/2 hours of battery life for extended use and productivity when away from an AC outlet.
  • Windows XP Home with SP3 gives you the freedom to do what you want at home and at work – simply, reliably and more securely
  • 160GB Hard Drive, 1GB RAM, Integrated 802.11b/g Wi-Fi Certified
  • Acer Crystal Eye webcam delivers smooth video streaming and high quality images for your on-line chats and business video conferences

Rating: (out of 496 reviews)

List Price: $ 329.99
Price: $ 329.99

Acer Aspire One AOD150-1669 10.1-Inch Seashell White Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life Reviews

Review by T. Orkun:

I ordered my Acer Aspire One 10.1 Netbook (AOD150-1165) on Feb 28, 2009 from Amazon. Item shipped on March 2nd and arrived on March 14.

When I ordered only Sapphire Blue color was available but I am happy with Sapphire Blue. It looks very attractive. I would normally order either white or black model but I am glad they were not available :) The only thing I can complain is that it easily gets finger marks so I try not to touch the shiny surfaces.

When you unpack the box and hold it on your hand, you will realise how light this is (especially if you have been lugging a 17″ laptop) This is very transportable and ideal for those small airplane tray tables (or your lap)

The 1.6Ghz N270 Intel Atom processor is a single core processor but it is pretty snappy and certainly more than enough for most office type usage. The Netbook ships with Windows XP Home w/SP3 installed instead of Vista so to me it feels as responsive as (or better than) a Core 2 Duo based laptop running Vista.

The unit is rather quiet. The fan or hard disk noise is minimal. The fan does not kick in often during normal use. It might be more active with some heavy CPU/HD activity tasks.

The screen is 1024×600 CrystalBright (shiny) type LCD but very comfortable to read under various light conditions. There is an integrated 0.3M megapixel (640×480) webcam and microphone embedded in the screen frame. Ideal to use a video phone/conferencing software like Skype, etc. BTW, to gain some vertical space on desktop, you might want to set Windows XP taskbar to auto-hide and pop-up when you move the cursor to the edge of the screen.

The keyboard is actually pretty well designed. Unlike some models from competitors, the shift, control, alt, tab, enter, backspace keys are all in the right places. Initially, I found the keys a bit small but after a few days of use, you get used to and avoid hitting two keys. The arrow keys could have been a bit bigger as there is room along the lower right side of the keyboard.

The touchpad on this model is made by Synaptics and is pretty configurable. Like everything else it is a bit small but works acceptably well. It would have been better if it was made wider. Touchpad buttons is another story. They are correctly placed below the touchpad but instead of using two independent buttons the designers chose to use one bar over the two buttons. This made the buttons much harder to press. I would have preferred two independent buttons. I think this is the biggest complaint about the design of this netbook. Nevertheless, the buttons do get softer over time. I have softened the buttons out by pressing both ends of the button bar at the same time repeatedly. I do this a number of times before using the laptop each day. So, it is not that hopeless.

Well, I do try to get myself used to build-in keyboard and mouse but those that are doing extensive work can still attach a regular USB keyboard and a USB mouse. For example, Microsoft Wireless Notebook Optical Mouse 3000 is a perfect match.

Alternatively, you can tap on the touchpad instead of pressing the buttons. The synaptics touchpad is pretty configurable. You can configure a corner of the touchpad for right button and anywhere else would be left button.

The speakers for this netbook is under it. They are pretty loud and sound quality is pretty decent. However, since the speaker openings are underside of the netbook, if you are holding it on a soft surface such as carpet or bed the sound can get muffled as the openings will be blocked. It’s not a very good idea to keep it on the soft surfaces for a long time anyway as this will block the fan vents as well and cause the netbook to overheat.

There is 1GB RAM memory on DDR2 SODIMM module installed (mine was made by Samsung). There is no on-board soldered memory (the description on Amazon is incorrect and is referring to older 8.9″ model). The memory is easily upgradable to 2GB by replacing the SODIMM module. I upgraded the memory on 10.1″ Aspire One to 2GB by installing a “Mushkin 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory – Retail” module (Mushkin part #991618). It works great! Please note that this module has CAS4 (4-4-4-12) timing instead of more common CAS5 (5-5-5-16). In other words, it is slightly faster memory as it has less wait states :)

The hard disk is a Hitachi HTS543216L9A300, 160GB 2.5″ 5400rpm, Serial ATA, 8MB Cache disk. It’s pretty quiet. I think there is plenty of space for most applications. If you need more you can attach an external USB hard drive or the hard disk itself can be upgraded almost as easily as the RAM memory.

The wireless chip (AR5007EG) is made by Atheros and supports 802.11b/g. The range is decent enough. I had no issues connecting to my home WiFi Access Point, at work or other free public hotspots. I used wifi at Starbucks, Barnes and Noble Bookstore and McDonald’s among others (I get free WiFi at these locations since I have AT&T DSL). However, some users are reporting that they have some issues. The Atheros driver installed by default is old (version 7.6.0.260). The latest I have found for the AR5007EG wifi chipset is version 7.6.1.244 (dated 2/25/2009) and I believe might solve issues that some people are experiencing. (As a convenience, I’ve provided instructions at the bottom of this review for access to updated drivers) The device properties indicate that the WiFi chip is setup for maximum power saving. By the way, just like RAM and HDD, the wireless module is also accessible. Who knows, someone (or Acer) would come up with an replacement module for 802.11n or a Bluetooth+WiFi combo.

There is no build-in bluetooth capability. If you need to interface with Bluetooth devices you will need to buy a USB adapter such as Cirago Bluetooth BTA3210 v2.1 EDR Class 2 Micro Bluetooth Adapter or you can get a combo with a bluetooth mouse such as Logitech VX Nano Cordless Laser Mouse for Notebooks (Black) Update: Apparently, Acer Aspire One AOD150 models build for some Asian markets do come with build-in Bluetooth. It’s a pity Bluetooth is not included for American version. :(

Like many other early adopters, the laptop arrived with Panasonic Built 5800mAh, 59W battery. It lasts 7-8hrs under normal office type work with Wi-Fi enabled. This is a bigger capacity battery than it would ship normally (4400mAh, also 6-cell) but most everyone got the larger one so far.

There are 3x USB 2.0 ports, 1x 10/100 Ethernet port, 1x VGA external monitor port and a single Multi-format flash memory card reader/writer (again, Amazon’s description is incorrect about 2nd SD card slot). There are also a headphone and external microphone jacks and a Kensington style lock slot.

There is also a slot for 3G SIM chip beside the battery. My netbook did have the slot but no 3G hardware in there to accept the SIM card. Presumably some models will be equipped to have 3G wireless capability.

Unlike 8.9″ predecessor, this 10.1 model did not come with a case. I picked a Neoprene sleeve from a local store that is designed for an 11″ laptop (Sony VAIO 11.1-Inch Neoprene protection case). Please note that with 6-cell battery the width of the netbook is about 8.5″. So, most 10″ cases with width around 7-8″ will either not fit or will require signficant stretching so choose your case accordingly. Actually, I personally use two cases. The neoprene sleeve goes inside a larger 12-13″ laptop bag with enough storage pockets for the charger and other cables. When I go out to a cafe, I only take the netbook in sleeve and leave the rest in the car.

The netbook also does not come with system recovery disks. There is a Acer recovery utility pre-installed that will generate your recovery disks for you. You should do this as soon as possible. You never know when you will need them. You will need a USB attached CD/DVD writer and some recordable media (6 CD-Rs for System Recovery + 2 for Apps and Drivers, OR alternatively 2 DVD-R for Recovery + 1 DVD-R for Apps and Drivers). I’ve purchased a NU Slim USB External SuperMulti Drive DVD Burner ESW860 and worked for me well. It’s slim enough to carry along with your netbook and you can watch DVDs if you like. You should be able to use it on any other laptop or desktop computer with USB 2.0 interface. Update: You can also order a set of recover CDs directly from Acer for . You need to go to Acer Support Website www.acerpanam.com and click on US on the map and select “eRecovery CD Purchase” link. It will verify the serial number of your netbook first.

Besides Windows XP Home, there is MS Works, a trial version of Microsoft Office 2007, a 30-day version of McAfee anti-virus suite and a couple other trialware installed. These can be uninstalled from Control Panel easily if desired (or needed).

Overall, I am very satisfied with it and highly recommend it. Obviously, I cannot talk about Customer Support/Service as I did not need to use the service. If your aim is to run your usual applications and surf the net with a decent screen size, this is the right one.

——

Update: Updating Atheros AR5007EG WiFi driver:

You can download version 7.6.1.244 (2/25/2009) driver free from Softpedia. Go to drivers.softpedia.com and enter AR5007EG at the top search box. Download the zip file (ar5_ar9_7.6.1.244.zip) and unzip it. Then go to Install_CD sub-folder and run setup.exe. When prompted choose to upgrade the driver. It’s simple and painless… If you are still having problems after driver update, change the channel of your AP/Router. There may be high interference from a nearby wifi router/access point. Good luck!

Buy Acer Aspire One AOD150-1669 10.1-Inch Seashell White Netbook – 6.5 Hour Battery Life now for only $ 329.99!

Acer Aspire AS1410-2039 11.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer Aspire AS1410-2039 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Celeron Processor 743, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, 11.6″ HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GS45 Express Chipset, 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 250 GB SATA Hard Drive, Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Dolby Sound Room Audio Enhancement, Intel WiFi Link 1000 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 3 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMIPort, Multi-gesture Touchpad, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh), up to 6-hours of battery life, 3.08 lbs. | 1.4 kg (system unit only), AC Power Adapter, AC Power Cord, Wireless Setup Card, Registration

  • 1.3GHz Intel Celeron 743 Processor
  • 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory
  • 250GB SATA Hard Drive, 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N wireless
  • 11.6″ HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, Up to 6 Hours of Battery Life

Rating: (out of 45 reviews)

List Price: $ 399.99
Price: $ 419.97

Acer Aspire AS1410-2039 11.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by J. Evans:

As a small internet business owner, I needed a laptop that is portable and reliable. I originally started looking at the 10″ netbooks, but found them to be too small and I hated that they only ran the Windows 7 Starter version which has some major restrictions. This 11.6″ laptop has a decent size screen and a nice size keyboard. I was deciding between this and the HP, but when you customize the HP to have all the same specs as this Acer, the cost was over 0 so this became a no-brainer.

I’ve had my Acer for about 1 month now and it is great. Windows 7 takes a little getting used to, but I’ve had no issues with it at all. I hooked it up to a wireless network printer without incident and it wasn’t loaded with a ton of garbage-ware. My only issue was that it only comes with the student/home trial version of MS Office, and I am an Outlook user. The entire office suite is expensive, so instead I tried Mozilla Thunderbird which is free and it works just as well as Outlook. Once my trial period for the MS Office software is up, I will purchase it for only 9 and keep Thunderbird as my email client which will save me a pretty penny.

Amazon had this laptop out to me in 3 days with free shipping (HP charged for shipping).

If you are looking for a “net-book” with all the capabilities of a regular sized laptop, I highly recommend this Acer.

Buy Acer Aspire AS1410-2039 11.6-Inch Black Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 419.97!

Acer AS8730-6951 18.4-Inch Laptop

Intel Centrino2 Processor Technology; Intel Core2 Duo Processor P8600 (2MB L2 Cache | 2.0GHz | 800MHz FSB); Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit w/ Service Pack 1; 18.4 WXGA HD Widescreen Display (1680 x 945); Mobile Intel PM45 Express Chipset; 4096MB DDR2 667 MHz Dual Channel Memory; NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT Graphics; 320GB SATA 5400RPM Hard Drive; 8X DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive;6-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader; Intel Wireless WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/g/Draft-N; Acer Crystal Eye Webcam; Acer Bio-Protection Fingerprint Solution; Dolby Home Theater Audio Enhancement; 4 – USB 2.0 Ports; 1 – HDMI port with HDCP Support; Bluetooth 2.0+EDR; 8-Cell Lithium-Ion

  • Multimedia-focused laptop with award-winning sapphire blue Gemstone design and 18.4-inch screen for true 16:9 aspect ratio
  • 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 processor (Centrino 2), 320 GB hard drive, 4 GB RAM (8 GB max), dual-layer DVD-R drive
  • Draft-N Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g/n); Bluetooth; Gigabit Ethernet; Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT graphics (up to 1791 MB total)
  • Connectivity: 4 USB, 1 HDMI, 1 VGA, ExpressCard 54/34, 6-in-1 memory card reader
  • Pre-installed with Windows Vista Home Premium with SP1 (64-bit version)

Rating: (out of 14 reviews)

List Price: $ 1,199.99
Price: $ 1,120.83

Acer AS8730-6951 18.4-Inch Laptop Reviews

Review by Michael Yee:

I had my eye on this notebook as I was looking to replace my dying 4 year old 17″ Toshiba laptop. When the price dropped 10% I felt the price became worthwhile. It quickly arrived in 4 days with regular super saver shipping.

This notebook mainly stands out for its large 18.4″ screen and crisp audio. The screen is impressive for videos and gameplay. The audio quality sounded superb when I plugged in my headphones. The processor and video card are also quite good – I tested gameplay on “Devil May Cry 4 (PC version)” and it was pretty awesome.

I was also surprised that all input/output ports are on the left and right sides – there are no rear ports. Initially I wasn’t sure whether I liked this, but it turns out to be easier than plugging cables into the rear :)

Shortfalls:

- the angled viewing is not as good as my old 17″ Toshiba screen

- the touch pad is not centered – it is slightly to the left

- the incorrect product description (no Blu-ray drive)

In summary, I give this five stars as it is a great high performance laptop for multimedia and gaming with a reasonable price point.

Buy Acer AS8730-6951 18.4-Inch Laptop now for only $ 1,120.83!

Acer AS5738-6969 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium)

Acer AS5738-6969 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel Core2 Processor T6600, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, 15.6″ HD Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel GM45 Express Chipset, 4096MB DDR2 667MHz Dual Channel Memory, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M, 500GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Intel WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, Gigabit Ethernet, High Definition Audio Support, Integrated Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, 4 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, Convenience Features- Multi-Gesture Touchpad, Acer Backup Manager, Touchpad-lock, 6-Cell Lithium-Ion (4400 mAh), 6.16 lbs. | 2.8 kg. (system unit only),

  • 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 Processor
  • 4096MB DDR2 667MHz Dual Channel Memory
  • 500GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
  • 15.6″ HD Acer CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Rating: (out of 10 reviews)

List Price: $ 649.99
Price: $ 1,099.95

Acer AS5738-6969 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) Reviews

Review by Marte:

I needed a PC that would hold, edit and display images. Not only does this computer meet all my expectations, but it is fast, portable and lightweight. The screen is incredibly bright and I find the keyboard easy to navigate. The mouse was too sensitive for me, and with Windows 7 help, I rectified the problem. I have used various computers/operating systems/drivers for 35+ years and this Acer rises to the top for ease of use, speed and capacity. A long battery time is not a priority for me, but its portability is.

Buy Acer AS5738-6969 15.6-Inch Blue Laptop (Windows 7 Home Premium) now for only $ 1,099.95!

Acer Aspire AS1410-8804 11.6-Inch Black Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life

Acer® Aspire AS1410-8804 Notebook comes with these specs: Intel® Centrino® Mobile Processor Technology- Intel® Core™2 Solo Processor ULV SU3500, Windows Vista® Home Premium with Service Pack 1, 11.6″ HD WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel® GS45 Express Chipset, 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, 250GB SATA Hard Drive, Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, Dolby Sound Room® Audio Enhancement, Intel® WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 3 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI™ Port, Multi-gesture Touchpad, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh), up to 6-hours of battery life, 3.08 lbs. | 1.4 kg (system unit

  • 1.4GHz Intel Core2 Solo ULV SU3500 Processor
  • 2048MB DDR2 667MHz Memory, 250GB SATA Hard Drive
  • Acer Crystal Eye Webcam, Intel WiFi Link 5100 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N, 1 HDMI port
  • Windows Vista Home Premium (SP 1), 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh)
  • 11.6″ HD WXGA Acer CrystalBrite LED-backlit Display, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD

Rating: (out of 149 reviews)

List Price: $ 449.99
Price: $ 449.97

Acer Aspire AS1410-8804 11.6-Inch Black Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life Reviews

Review by Dave:

I keep checking out the Netbooks that come into the hardware lab where I work, looking for something to replace a cheap one I bought for my kids to play with, but they all just seem too small. As a result I’ve been poking around the high-end of the Netbook spectrum / low end of the Ultra-portable spectrum for something more usable. The Acer Aspire 1410 series does a great job of bridging the gap between small low cost “Netbooks” and more expensive “Ultra-portables” (which is what Acer classes this as). It manages to overcome many of the short comings of Netbooks without getting anywhere near the 00+ price range of most ultra-portables. It has a few drawbacks, notably material quality: like a lot of Acer products the plastic molding is attractive and the tolerances are tight. However the quality of the plastic is more in line with what you would expect with a Netbook (which is to say it is lower density plastic and more likely to scratch or break). To me it’s reasonable that the overall component quality is lower than what I would get if I spent 00 (display not as nice, finish not as refined, buttons not as responsive, etc…). Still, overall this is a well put together computer with good build quality considering the price. While I didn’t end up buying one myself if might be the right fit for you: if you are on a budget and you need a small laptop that can do more than browse web pages this would be a very good choice.

Let’s go over the specs:

CPU: The Core 2 ULV SU3500 is a great CPU choice and far more powerful than the Atom CPU found in most Netbooks. This is a single core (as opposed to the two core “Core2 Duo”) Ultra Low Voltage cpu running at 1.4GHz. Depending on the exact application this CPU is about 3-6x more powerful than the typical Atom Processor. It also has 3 MB of cache (cache is a form of on-chip high speed memory) vs the Atom’s 512 KB. With 6x the cache of the Atom this CPU is going to spend a lot more time running instructions and a lot less time waiting on the memory sub-system. It also helps that the Core 2 ULV SU3500 memory bus is about 25% faster than what you will find on an Atom. The Core2 is technically more power hungry than the Atom but when running applications the difference isn’t significant (5 watts for the Core2 vs 1.5 watts for Atom). The main difference happens when in standby or sleep mode where the Atom will use much less power than the Core2 (because the kind of transistors on the Atom “leak” less power than those used on the Core2 when in those modes). So if you need long battery life while carrying your computer around in standby with brief periods of activity you might prefer the Atom based Netbooks (say for sales calls on the road). I think most users will probably prefer the Core2 – I know that I do. Update: there may be a dual core version of this coming out soon. It’s on the list to arrive where I work but that doesn’t mean it will be sold in the US.

MEMORY: 2GB of DDR2 RAM is plenty and the 667Mhz memory speed is good enough (faster notebooks go up to 1066Mhz). This system runs Vista which is more memory hungry than the Windows XP or Linux found on most Netbooks so 2GB, while enough, doesn’t go as far as you might think. Still, as long as your aren’t planning on doing any really serious gaming 2GB will handle the typical office application with no troubles.

HDD: The 250GB HDD has plenty of storage given that most users don’t use more than 50GB. Serious gamers and video encoders will need a lot more space than this.

DISPLAY: The 11.6″ 1366×768 screen looks good and is a lot more useable than the 8-10″ screens found on most Netbooks. The resolution is much better than what you will find on most Netbooks and it is reasonably bright (200 nits vs 300+ nits on higher end laptop). I passed on this model because the viewing angle is limited (the manufacturer list the viewing angles as 60vert/90horiz compared to 120v/140h on a high end display) and my sons like to sit with me and watch YouTube videos. The limited viewing angles might be a selling point for somebody traveling who would prefer not to share what’s on their screen with others. So while Acer clearly saved some money here it’s still a good display: unless you need a really high quality LCD I think most people will be pretty happy with this screen (again it’s far better than what you’ll find in most Netbooks). For those few who care it’s made by AU Optronics and I think it’s model B116XW01.

GRAPHICS: The Intel Mobile GMA X4500HD graphics won’t impress any gamers but if you’re running business applications it will do just fine. Update: they loaded Autocad on this thing at work and it wasn’t pretty. It might have been a driver issue but the render times were terrible. It’s not really a surprise but don’t buy this to run your CAD software. Of course for most users this won’t be an issue.

AUDIO: notebooks are not known for great speaker sound and this notebook doesn’t break from that trend. Again it’s better than most Netbooks but not by a lot. Update: With headphones on I found the sound to be fine.

DRIVES: Like most Netbooks and Ultra-portables this has no CD or DVD drive. I recommend buying an external CD Drive. The software industry may start to switch over to USB drives soon (Windows 7 will be sold on USB drives) so this may not be a big deal for much longer. Today it’s a pain to not have a CDROM.

BATTERY: The 6 cell battery is perfect for this notebook (thanks to the low power components). This notebook is probably too small for an 8 cell to fit cleanly but the 4 cell found in most Netbooks just isn’t adequate, even for an Atom CPU. This 6 cell battery will provide about 3-5 hours of real use though with aggressive power saving modes you can get over six hours. Update: we have two of these in our hardware lab and it was just pointed it out to me that one (which came pre-release) had a higher capacity battery than the release version (5600mAH vs. 4400mAH). I’ve adjusted my battery life numbers down to reflect the release version. Interestingly the non-US version of this laptop has the higher capacity battery. I can only assume Acer was trying to bring the price down to compete in the tight US netbook market.

WEIGHT: Coming in a 3.1 lbs this is tiny bit heavier than the typical Netbook but not by much (Netbooks will range from 2-3lbs). Most regular notebooks are 6-8 lbs.

WIRELESS: The usual Intel 5100 A/G/N supports the most common standards (“A” and “G”) along with the new “N” standard. You should have no trouble connecting to wireless networks. This is pretty standard though a few laptops will support 3G out of the box.

In short: while this notebook isn’t perfect it is well built and unlike most Netbooks, actually has a decent CPU. It’s small and light but big enough that you can actually use it. If you’ve got 1K-2K to spend you can get a better Ultra-Portable notebook (I’m partial to Sony’s and Apple’s offerings in that segment) but in this price range there isn’t much competition.

Oh I should note that while this model is dark blue, Acer makes this in two other colors you can buy:

Acer Aspire AS1410-8913 11.6-Inch Ruby Red

Acer Aspire AS1410-8804 11.6-Inch Black

Also if you’re outside the US this might be sold as the “Acer Timeline 1810T” locally and may have slightly different specs (such as a better battery).

Buy Acer Aspire AS1410-8804 11.6-Inch Black Laptop – 6 Hour Battery Life now for only $ 449.97!

Find more acer laptops on Amazon!

Order Details:

  • Instant delivery after payment!
  • 14 day money-back guarantee - no questions asked!
  • Free support via the support forum!
  • Lifetime updates included for free!
  • Unlimited personal license: Use the plugin on all of your own weblogs!

Order WP Shopping Pages Premium now and start monetizing your Wordpress weblogs!

One Low Price:
$49

Download WP Shopping Pages Free!

Our free version of WP Shopping Pages is a great way to start!
It includes support for Amazon and eBay but lacks CJ / Linkshare integration as well as several advanced features (e.g. lonk cloaking) that can only be found in premium.

Add WP Robot and CMS Commander for even more Power!

WP Robot is our advanced autoblogging plugin for Wordpress weblogs, which is already used successfully by hundreds of webmasters, and with CMS Commander you can bulk manage all your WordPress weblogs from one dashboard to save lots of time!